Just another WordPress.com site




Supersilent is a Norwegian avant-garde/electroacoustic group signed on Rune Grammofon. They are known for only making improvised music, both live and in the studio.

Supersilent was formed when the free jazz trio Veslefrekk (Arve Henriksen on trumpet, keyboardist Ståle Storløkken, and Jarle Vespestad on drums) played a concert with producer, live electronics artist and self-described “audio virus” Helge Sten (a.k.a. Deathprod). The concert encouraged them to record a three-disc, three-hour compilation of abrasive material, simply titled 1-3, which was Rune Grammofons very first release in 1997. They refined their sound slightly on the follow-up, 4, which was released a year after, and in 2001, they released 5, culled from live recordings that changed the focus to slowly shifting textures and an almost ambient pace. Their 2003 release 6 is their most accessible and most critically acclaimed album yet, with gentler and more melodic material.


Their 7th release in 2005 was a DVD showcasing Supersilent live, and is regarded by many fans to be their masterpiece. 8 was released in 2007 to positive reviews, and so did their 9th album, released in October 2009, after drummer Vespestad had left the group. During 2010 they released Supersilent 10 and Supersilent 11. Their next album will be released this year.


More info:





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Tag Cloud

%d bloggers like this: